How to get this to work?

Talk about installation process and problems

Moderator: alexandrleonenko

ethanthomas82
Junior
Junior

How to get this to work?

Postby ethanthomas82 » Jan 22nd, '12, 23:43

I am a PHP programmer but I guess even technical knowledge helps me little in this case. My server is running PHP 5.2. I have tried everything and hours of time to get only a basic grid to work. I have read the instructions over and over. The examples in the free download will not work(they even point to directories that do not exist) and I have tried altering the examples. I can not think of anything else to try. I have debug mode set to true and all I get is blank white screen. I tried to creat the most basic grid I can think of so I downloaded the phpgrid program zip file, unzipped it, and placed all the files in directory http://www.home.com/datagrid. Then I did the following:

<?php
define ("DATAGRID_DIR", "/datagrid/");
define ("PEAR_DIR", "/datagrid/pear/");

require_once(DATAGRID_DIR.'datagrid.class.php');
require_once(PEAR_DIR.'PEAR.php');
require_once(PEAR_DIR.'DB.php');

$DB_USER='myusername';
$DB_PASS='xxxxx';
$DB_HOST='localhost';
$DB_NAME='mydatabase';

ob_start();
$db_conn = & DB::factory('mysql');
$result_conn = $db_conn->connect(DB::parseDSN('mysql://'.$DB_USER.':'.$DB_PASS.'@'.$DB_HOST.'/'.$DB_NAME));
if(DB::isError($result_conn)){ die($result_conn->getMessage()); }
$dgrid->DataSource($db_conn, $sql, $default_order);

$sql = "SELECT * FROM mytable";

$debug_mode = true;
$messaging = true;
$unique_prefix = "abc_";
$dgrid = new DataGrid($debug_mode, $messaging, $unique_prefix);

$default_order_field = "count";
$default_order_type = "ASC";
$dgrid->dataSource($db_conn, $sql, $default_order_field, $default_order_type);

$dgrid->bind();
ob_end_flush();
?>

Anyone have any ideas on what I can try?

ethanthomas82
Junior
Junior

Re: How to get this to work?

Postby ethanthomas82 » Jan 23rd, '12, 01:06